We make good care better

"At the center of medicine there is always a human relationship between a patient and a doctor."
Michael Balint

ABS Organizational Structure

The American Balint Society is a volunteer-led organization wherein the Council governs all aspects of its work and various committees are tasked with specific functions. We strive for a Council and committee membership that represents the diversity of practitioners and disciplines who utilize Balint groups.

ABS Committees

The committees do the heavy lifting of planning events and intensives, overseeing leadership training, compiling scholarly research, membership engagement, and maintaining an historical archive. The ABS Organizational Chart provides information on which committees may be open to new members if you are interested in getting involved.

ABS Council

Members of the Council are elected by the membership. They serve two year terms and may be re-elected or fulfill different roles over time. Term limits apply to all roles on the Council to ensure healthy revitalization.  Click on an image to learn more about that individual.

Janet Walker

Phil Phelps

Kathy Knowlton
Immediate Past President

Alec Chessman

Barbara Hemmendinger

Allison Bickett
2nd Term - Council
IBF Representative 2022-2025

Francis Chu
2nd Term

Connie Hixson
1st Term

Rebekah Schiefer
2nd Term

Terri Wall
1st Term

Brian Wexler
1st Term

Eran Metzger
Coordinator of Intensives

Lisa Buck
Chair of Credentialing

Alyssa Vigliotti
Graduate Education Rep

Luca Procaccianti
Brandeis Fellow

Shantel Beckers
Executive Administrator